Athens Area Community Foundation Welcomes 2019-2020 Board

Staff Report From Athens CEO

Wednesday, September 25th, 2019

The Athens Area Community Foundation announced its new Board of Directors for the 2019-2020 year. The newly elected Board Members include: Mayor Kelly Girtz (ex-officio, no term); Clark Brown, Wealth Strategist at Vickery Financial; and Kirk Smith, President of The AdSmith. Rolling off of the board this year are Kathy Kirbo (ex-officio member), and Cynthia Lester (3rd term member).

These members will join the ranks of 25 current board members serving the Athens Area Community Foundation. These members will guide and support the foundation in its efforts to better connect and foster an active philanthropic community in Athens and surrounding areas.

“Our community is filled with people who are working hard to make a difference in the lives of others,” said  Phil Bettendorf, Senior Vice President, Synovus Bank, who will be returning this year as Chairman of the Board for 2019-2020. “We believe that the diversity of minds and work from our board members work together to continue helping Athens be a place to thrive in education, work, and play. We are grateful for their time and service to the foundation and are excited for new members to join us for this coming year.”

The 2019-2020 Athens Area Community Foundation Board of Directors includes: 

Chair - Phil Bettendorf, Senior Vice President, Synovus Bank 

Vice-Chair - Rhodes McLanahan, President & CEO, First American Bank & Trust 

Secretary - Kelly Holloway, Attorney, Epps, Holloway, DeLoach & Hoipkemier, LLC 

Treasurer - G. Michael Smith, Managing Partner, G Michael Smith & Associates, CPAs 

Immediate Past Chair, Alex Patterson, Retired Partner, Alston and Bird, LLP 

Alicia Battle, Director of Workforce Development, Goodwill of North Georgia 

David Bradley, President & CEO, Athens Area Chamber of Commerce 

Clark Brown, Wealth Strategist, Vickery Financial 

Bob Carson, President, Carson Advisory, Inc. 

Kevin Clark, General Manager, Online Athens and Athens Banner Herald 

Sally Coenen, Community Member 

Myron Downs, Co-founder, Athens Veterinary Surgery Center 

Rob Fezekas, Wealth Adviser, Vickery Financial Services 

Dexter Fisher, Executive Director, District Services, CCSD 

Jennifer Frum, Vice President for Public Service and Outreach - University of Georgia 

Patrick Garrard, Attorney, Blasingame, Burch, Garrard & Ashley, P.C. 

Hank Huckaby, Higher Education Administration – Retired 

Tim Johnson, Executive Director, Family Connection-Communities In Schools of Athens 

Kelly Girtz, Athens-Clarke County Mayor 

Pat Mercardante, First Vice President – Investment Officer, Wells Fargo Advisors 

Jinx Patel, Scientist, Athens Research and Technology, Inc. - Retired 

R. Edward Perkins, Johnson & Johnson – Retired 

Sara Schramm, Attorney, Blasingame, Burch, Garrard & Ashley, P.C. 

Kirk Smith, President, The AdSmith 

Lawton Stephens, Judge of Superior Court 

Neil Stevens, President & CEO, Oconee State Bank 

Kara Dyckman, Board of Education, CCSD 

Justin Widener, Research & Development Leader, Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health