GSSA Annouces the Four Finalist for Georgia’s 2019 Superintendent of the Year

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Tuesday, October 30th, 2018

Each year the Georgia School Superintendents Association calls for and accepts Superintendent of the Year nominations from local school boards, Regional Education Service Agencies, business organizations and communities, and education colleagues from all over the state of Georgia.  This year we received 23 nominations from every area of our state and all types of systems to include urban, suburban and rural.  The four finalists were selected from those nominations and they will now compete to be named a single winner and the sole state school superintendent of the year for the state of Georgia. A single named finalist will be named for Georgia at the 2018 GSBA/GSSA Annual Conference in December. The sole state finalist will compete in the national competition to be concluded in February 2019, at our parent organization’s National Conference on Education in Nashville, Tennessee where the national winner will be announced.

Georgia’s four finalists are Dr. Curtis Jones, superintendent of Bibb County Schools, Ms. Samantha Fuhrey, superintendent of Newton County Schools, Dr. Michael Duncan, superintendent of Pike County Schools, and Dr. Jeff Bearden, superintendent of Forsyth County Schools.  Each have been singled out for their leadership abilities and their excellent skillset in working with their boards, staff, and local communities.  Having outstanding communication skills seems to be a theme amongst this distinguished group of experienced educational leaders.  They all face challenges and do so with high integrity and dynamic and supportive leadership styles.  They have risen to the top of their profession for a very good reason.  They all strive to create a kinetic and innovative educational environment for students to be successful.